Tournament Game Reports (80)

Tuesday, 11 April 2017 12:04

CodCon 11 Results

Written by

CodCon 11 is in the books!  The title was taken by our very own Grand Weasel Prime, Jim O'Kelley.  Despite the many laurels he's accumulated over the years, Jim had never won a tournament in Chicago.  He took CodCon 11 in style, soloing as Turkey in the third round.  It was the seventh solo in tournament history, the third for Turkey.

Finishing in second place was last year's champion, Jake Trotta, while third place was taken by Bryan Pravel, the clubhouse leader at the end of the first day.

Tuesday, 11 April 2017 11:24

CodCon 11, Round 1, Board 1

Written by

Go back to CodCon 11 results

Round 1, Board 1

This game featured the eventual Icarus award winner, Jake Trotta, who reached 8 centers by the end of 1903, only to be eliminated in the final year, and three best country awards.

The game ended by draw vote during the Spring 1910 turn with the following center counts:

Austria (John Gramila): 11; 30.402 points. (Best Austria)
England (David Hafner): 14; 49.246 points. (Best England)
France (Nicole Campbell*): 0; 0.000 points.
Germany (Kevin O'Kelley): 0; 0.000 points.
Italy (Brad Harrington): 9; 20.352 points. (Best Italy)
Russia (Jake Trotta): 0; 0.000 points. (Icarus Award)
Turkey (Nick Rohn): 0; 0.000 points.

*Nicole Campbell was replaced by Grant Smith in Spring, 1905. 

Go back to CodCon 11 results

Sunday, 27 November 2016 15:50

Tempest Round 2 AAR: Jake Trotta

Written by

Back to Tempest 2016 AARs

I threw a solo. Before I get into the how, I’ll let Batfleck tell you why.

I thought my game was over after power selection. Jay Heumann was Turkey. We had shared a board at worlds that I had gone from 9-6-1, mostly out of frustration at Jay and his ally. In Russia was Brandon Fogel, fresh off the “I wasn’t even trying to board top” start to the season. Then in Italy was Buffalo, who I had mercilessly stabbed with the builds the night before. I drew Austria. Shit.

Thursday, 17 November 2016 09:32

The Fourth Reich

Written by

If you don't like beer, heavy food and cheerless efficiency, then life in the new world order may be hard on you.
Jake Trotta guided Germany to a dominant win in last night's Bar Room Brawl Championship Game at the Red Lion in Lincoln Square. He topped the board with 17 centers to earn a permanent spot on Cockerill's Orb, the new Brawl trophy. Named in memory of Nate Cockerill, the Cockerill Cup will reside in the Red Lion, Nate's home away from home when he lived here.
Tuesday, 14 April 2009 01:00

Sundstrom wins CODCon 2009 Open

Written by

Here are the results of the 2009 CODCon Open.

CODCon Open 2009 Player Scores

1. Matt Sundstrom 145 72 168 313
2. Paul Pignotti 212 78.570 7 290.570
3. Peter Yeargin 183 65 85 268
4. Christian MacDonald 0 144 112 256
5. Christian Kline 160 22 95 255
6. Mike Morrison 45 135 3 180
7. Don Glass 4 0 147 151
8. Andrew Bartlein 8 48.570 95 143.570
9. Nathan Cockerill 11 104.570 32 136.570
10. Jim O`Kelley 0 135 0 135
11. Grant Smith 12 72 52 124
12. Christopher M. Davis 0 112 6 118
13. Kevin O`Kelly2 0 48.570 62 110.570
14. Eric Brown 60 18.570 0 78.570
15. Greg Duenow 0 65 0 65
16. Pete McNamara 55 6 0 61
17. Jeremiah Peterson 0 58.570 0 58.570
17. Scott Yahne 0 58.570 0 58.570
19. Mike Halpin 5 5 6 11
19. Don Vana 5 6 5 11
19. Rob Chase 11 0 0 11
22. Ted McClelland 0 8 0 8
23. Kevin O`Kelly 0 6 0 6

CODCon Open 2009 Awards

1st Place: Matt Sundstrom (313 pts.)
2nd Place: Paul Pignotti (290.570 pts.)
3rd Place: Peter Yeargin (268 pts.)
4th Place: Christian MacDonald (256 pts.)
5th Place: Christian Kline (255 pts.)
6th Place: Mike Morrison (180 pts.)
7th Place: Don Glass (151 pts.)

Best Austria: Don Glass (H3G2) (147 pts.)
Best England: Christian Kline (H1G1) (160 pts.)
Best France: Andrew Bartlein (H3G2) (95 pts.)
Best Germany: Christian MacDonald (H2G3) (144 pts.)
Best Italy: Mike Morrison (H2G1) (135 pts.)
Best Russia: Christopher M. Davis (H2G3) (112 pts.)
Best Turkey: Paul Pignotti (H1G1) (212 pts.)

Best result without a solo: Matt Sundstrom (313 pts.)
Best collection of losses: Mike Halpin, Don Vana (11 pts.)
Last place: Mike Halpin, Don Vana (11 pts.)

Thanks to Tournament Director Jeremiah Peterson for running a great event, and for all the players for, well, playing.


Take a look at some of the photos from the event below:




Sunday, 13 November 2011 14:43

Third time the charm for Yeargin

Written by

Peter Yeargin left Chicago a few months ago for his new life in D.C., but one thing he didn't want to leave behind was a Weasel Royale championship, the only major Chicago title to elude his clutches. In his third attempt yesterday at Dan Burgess' home in Downers Grove, he finally earned the title of Bull Weasel, to go along with his Weasel Moot championship in 2010 and his Weasel of the Year honors in 2009 and 2011.

The other players conceded the Bull Weasel title in Fall 1909. The final center counts were: 
Monday, 07 November 2011 11:08

Alpha Weasel accummulates more honors

Written by

Congrats to our Alpha Weasel, Chris Martin, who won the DipCon at Carnage and also secured his second Grand Prix championship. The longtime member of the Potomac Tea & Knife Society is just the second two-time Grand Prix champion.

The event featured 13 boards over the three rounds, with 36 players participating. The top seven were:

Sunday, 11 September 2011 20:11

Out with the old, in with the older

Written by

Just prior to the start of the final round at Weasel Moot V, we moved one of the tables onto the meeting room's dance floor to create more space. As fate would have it, Chris Martin, who has a PhD in dance, landed on that board.

The former world champ sparkled in his natural habitat, twisting and turning and spinning his way to a resounding 17-center board top. The 75.26 points were enough to vault him past our own John Gramila, who posted the only solo of the tournament, and become the Moot's first two-time winner. Congratulations to our Alpha Weasel alpha, who is now our Alpha Weasel epsilon, as well.

Thursday, 01 September 2011 20:13

Everything you need to know about Weasel Moot

Written by

Coming to Weasel Moot (Sept. 9-10 at the Days Inn Chicago)? Here are some tips to help you navigate the neighborhood. You may also want to look over the tournament rules.

Want to know who else is going? Here's the current list of attendees.

You can find the tournament schedule and other info here. And don't forget to bring a good hat for Hat Night, which is Friday night. Best lid winds a prize.

Finally, if you want to stay at the Days Inn, you may still be able to get the group rate. Go here for more info.

See you next weekend!

Friday, 26 August 2011 19:31

WDC at Weasel Moot VI

Written by

Come now, Weasels, start your scheming, and mark your calendars while you're at it. The 22nd annual World Diplomacy Championship and the 45th North American Diplomacy Championship are coming to Chicago!

That's right, the Windy City Weasels will host the WDC and DipCon at the hobby's best-named tournament, their sixth annual Weasel Moot. Hroom, hroom! All the details you need are right here, so make your plans to join us! 

Who's Online

We have 1075 guests and 15 members online

  • DancingQueen
  • jimok


To request an account, contact us at