Tournament Game Reports (64)

Friday, 21 January 2011 22:18

Weasel Moot V

Written by
Moot: n a deliberative assembly primarily for the administration of justice.
Weasel: vb to escape from or evade a situation or obligation. n 1: small carnivorous mammal that is able to prey on animals larger than itself. n 2: cunning Diplomacy player indigenous to the Chicago area.

The hobby's best-named tournament is back for a fifth installment and a final tune-up before we host the world championship in 2012!

When: September 9-10, 2011.
Where: Day’s Inn Chicago, 644 W. Diversey Pkwy., Chicago, IL 60614.
What: A three-round Diplomacy tournament. Best two rounds count for score. It only takes one round to be eligible for awards.
Who: Check out the list of attendees.
How much: The entry fee is $40. Preregistration fee is $35. ($20 for students and kids; $18 if they preregister.) You may preregister through September 8 by using the Button below:
(Note that paid-up Weasels get an additional discount of $5.)
Weasel Moot V pre-registration fee


Room Reservations: Call 888-LPN-Days. The group code is DITO. The rooms are being held under the block name Diplomacy Tournament.
Friday, September 9
Round 1 (Hat Night)
Registration: 6:15 to 6:45 p.m.
Board Call: 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 10
Round 2 (Team Tournament)
Registration: 9:00 to 9:30 a.m.
Board Call: 9:45 a.m.
Round 3
Registration: 6:15 to 6:45 p.m.
Board Call: 7 p.m.
The tournament will end at a predetermined time between 3 a.m. and 5 a.m.
Sunday, September 11
Awards Ceremony: 10 a.m. at a location to be determined.
Questions? Contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or visit our website at or our Meetup group at
The tournament rules for Weasel Moot V are here.


Friday, 21 January 2011 21:33

The Fifth Annual CODCon Open

Written by

Play Dip at the tournament that started Chicago's resurgence!

Monday, 27 September 2010 09:09

Yeargin salvages club honor, wins Weasel Moot!

Written by

Only one Chicagoan cracked the top 10 at Weasel Moot IV, but he did so in convincing fashion. Peter Yeargin posted large board tops in the first and third rounds to win the Moot and become our new Alpha Weasel. He's the third straight Weasel to win the Moot and also the first player to capture two best-country awards since Matt Sundstrom and Don Williams turned the trick in Moot I.

We had four boards in each of the three rounds and a total of 37 players at the tournament, which was played Sept. 24-25, with an awards ceremony on the 26th. The numbers included 13 travelers, an all-time high for us. Seven of the travelers were playing at the Moot for the first time.

Here are the final standings:

Saturday, 25 September 2010 20:49

Weasel Moot team names

Written by

Here are the names of the nine teams that competed in the team round. Feel free to vote on your favorite by commenting below.

Bangor's Finest
Christian Scientists
Southern Comfort 
Tony Loves Matt but Not Peter  
Weasel Intercourse
Who is Ferret?
Young Guns

Saturday, 25 September 2010 20:33

Four more boards in the third and final round

Written by

Here are the matchups:

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 3 - Game 1
Austria: Todd Woodman
England: Don Glass
France: Chris Glassburn
Germany: Christopher M. Davis
Italy: Dirk Knemeyer
Russia: Christian Kline
Turkey: Grant Smith

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 3 - Game 2
Austria: Eric Brown
England: Dave Maletsky
France: Matt Sundstrom
Germany: Aash Anand
Italy: Josh Kanto
Russia: Roland Cooke
Turkey: Kevin O'Kelly

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 3 - Game 3
Austria: Pete McNamara
England: Amanda Baumgartner
France: Conrad Woodring
Germany: Dan Burgess
Italy: Peter Lokken
Russia: Peter Yeargin
Turkey: Mike French

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 3 - Game 4
Austria: Andy Bartalone
England: Nick Rohn
France: John Gramila
Germany: Nathan Cockerill
Italy: Ted McClelland
Russia: Jonathan Hill
Turkey: Adam Silverman

Unofficially, we had 36 players and 12 boards.

Saturday, 25 September 2010 10:43

Round 2 under way with four more boards

Written by

More intriguing matchups.

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 2 - Game 1
Austria: Adam Silverman
England: Roland Cooke
France: Grant Smith
Germany: Peter Yeargin
Italy: Christian Kline
Russia: Andy Bartalone
Turkey: Aash Anand

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 2 - Game 2
Austria: Don Glass
England: Kevin O`Kelly
France: Christian Pedone
Germany: Tim Yanok
Italy: Alex Amann
Russia: Conrad Woodring
Turkey: John Gramila

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 2 - Game 3
Austria: Amanda Baumgartner
England: Eric Brown
France: Jonathan Hill
Germany: Mike Morrison
Italy: Tony Prokes
Russia: Dirk Knemeyer
Turkey: Christian MacDonald

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 2 - Game 4
Austria: Mike French
England: Ted McClelland
France: Robert Rousse
Germany: Dave Maletsky
Italy: Chris Glassburn
Russia: Nick Rohn
Turkey: Matt Sundstrom

We have a shot at five boards for the evening round, so come on out.

Saturday, 25 September 2010 10:33

Quotables from the Moot

Written by

Let's use this article to share quotes from the weekend, starting with the best one so far. This is from Christian Pedone, who, during the first round, was sitting on the sidelines as Austria in Spring 1901 while Italy negotiated with Russia: "So far, they've determined that I'm not an Orc." High marks for theme humor on multiple levels.

Friday, 24 September 2010 19:53

Weasel Moot opens with four boards

Written by

Weasel Moot IV opened about 12 minutes ago with four boards. The first round features some choice matchups.

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 1 - Game 1
Austria: Christian MacDonald
England: Dirk Knemeyer
France: Adam Silverman
Germany: Kevin O'Kelly
Italy: Christina Mandarino
Russia: Chris Glassburn
Turkey: Peter Lokken

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 1 - Game 2
Austria: Christian Pedone
England: Nathan Cockerill
France: Mike French
Germany: Roland Cooke
Italy: Eric Brown
Russia: Todd Woodman
Turkey: Samuel Bassett

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 1 - Game 3

Austria: Jonathan Hill
England: Christian Kline
France: Andy Bartalone
Germany: Conrad Woodring
Italy: Matt Sundstrom
Russia: Tim Yanok
Turkey: Dave Maletsky

Weasel Moot IV - Heat 1 - Game 4
Austria: Robert Rousse
England: Peter Yeargin
France: Aash Anand
Germany: Don Glass
Italy: Nick Rohn
Russia: Alex Amann
Turkey: Amanda Baumgartner

Saturday, 11 September 2010 21:23

Jim O'Kelley wins Weasel Royale 2010!

Written by

After a hard-fought battle, in 1915 a five-way draw was finally agreed upon, resulting in Jim O'Kelley being crowned our new Bull Weasel.  Congratulations to all the combatants, whose fine play during the recently-completed season earned their participation in our championship event.  And special congratuations to our War Weasel for some fine play.  It was a great time.

John Gramila prevailed at the undercard with a 12-center Turkey, and he now leads the pack for a spot at Weasel Royale 2011.  More reports, statistics, and commentary are sure to follow a fun-filled day in Downers Grove.

Sunday, 15 August 2010 23:47

Royale Field to Feature Four New Faces!

Written by

The field for the 2010 Weasel Royale club championship came down to the last board at the last event of the year.

Heading into the Aug. 14 Weasel Pyle, Sam Bassett had a tenous hold on the seventh spot in the Royale field. No fewer than eight Pyle participants had realistic shots at taking the bid from him.

Page 2 of 5

Who's Online

We have 1031 guests and one member online

  • tatertrotts


To request an account, contact us at