Print this page
Thursday, 13 October 2016 20:36

Paradox Lost?

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Hasbro's 5th edition rules eliminate the Convoy Paradox once and for all. It's right there on page 17:

A Convoyed Attack Doesn’t Cut Certain Supports
A convoyed Army doesn’t cut the support of a unit supporting an  attack  against  one  of  the  Fleets  necessary  for  the  Army  to  convoy.

Of course, a fine bit of good that clear wording will do you if you leave the rulebook in your bag while giving a ruling. Sigh. Perhaps for only the second time in club history, we had a tricky convoy situation crop up last night at the Red Lion. And I got the ruling wrong.

In fairness to me, I was a few beers in when Brandon Fogel came running in wide-eyed from the back room.


"We need you for a ruling," he said excitedly. "It's the Convoy Paradox!"

In fairness to Brandon, the Convoy Paradox is the kind of thing that excites students of the game. You rarely see it.

I followed him into the back room, and listened to the players explain the situation. Briefly, England convoyed to Norway through the North Sea with two supports, but Russia moved Norway to the North Sea with one support. I studied the pieces for a moment, then ruled.

"It's not a paradox," I said dismissively. And I was right about that. The Convoy Paradox occurs--or occurred with old versions of the rules--when a convoyed unit dislodged a piece that was supporting a successful attack on a convoying fleet.  My mistake came with my next breath. "The army is moving in with two supports, and the fleet only has one support out, so the convoy succeeds."

Seemed pretty clear to me, but as Edi Birsan informed me this morning, I "blew it."

It's explained clearly on page 14 of the rulebook that was sitting in my bag last night:

Disrupting a Convoy
Dislodgment of a fleet in a convoy causes the convoy to fail. If a Fleet ordered to convoy is dislodged during the turn, the Army to be convoyed remains in its original province.

Sorry, Guys! Despite that error, I think we all had fun at our second straight two-board session of the 2017 Bar Room Brawl Series. Here are the summaries.

Game No. 314
Playing in his fourth game of Diplomacy in six days, Bryan Pravel eked out a board-top over Ali Adib in the back room at the Lion. The game ended by time limit after the Fall 1905 turn in the following center counts:
Austria (Gus Spelman): 0; 0.000 points.
England (Chris Kelly): 1; 0.431 points.
France (Ali Adib): 8; 27.586 points.
Germany (Brandon Fogel): 6; 15.517 points.
Italy (Matt Sundstrom): 5; 10.776 points.
Russia (Bryan Pravel): 9; 34.914 points.
Turkey (John Davis): 5; 10.776 points.
Spelman, one of Adib's recruits, played for the first time with us last season. Davis is another friend of Adib's and was playing for the first time ever.
Game No. 315
Meanwhile in the main room, Christian Kline topped at 11 centers, ahead of John Gramila and newcomer Jeff Stahl. That game also ended by time limit after the Fall 1905 turn. The final center counts were:
Austria (Geoff Serednesky): 2; 1.460 points.
England (Mick Johnson): 0; 0.000 points.
France (Christian Kline): 11; 44.161 points.
Germany (Brian Shelden): 6; 13.139 points.
Italy (John Gramila): 8; 23.358 points.
Russia (Jeff Stahl): 7; 17.883 points.
Turkey (Jake Trotta): 0; 0.000 points.

Johnson played for the first time ever last month in the rooftop game at Casa Trotta's. Stahl, no relation to server Courtney, is a high school friend of mine who used to play with me in the early '90s. He watched our Opening Night game last year and finally made good on his promise to play a game with us. I served as his adviser.

Anyway, the supply center charts are here. Both games looked fun. Perhaps the players will chime in below with their takes.

Read 1302 times Last modified on Thursday, 10 November 2016 10:00